Private Event Policies
If you have already booked with us, please refer to your event confirmation for a complete list of our policies. Below is just a summary.
Room Rental Event Fees
Room rates are for 5 hours. There is a $75/hour charge for each additional hour for University events. There is a $125/hour charge for each additional hour for non-University events. You have access to reserved rooms 30 minutes before and after events at no charge.
Non-Room Rental Event Fees
Food & Beverage Minimum: For each event space, $12.50 per person for University Events excluding the West Wing, $18 per person for University events in the West Wing, or $30 per person for special events. This does not apply to the small meeting rooms or the Bar.
Campus Club Service Fee: A service fee of 20% will be added, but is not limited to the following: all food; beverages, AV, dance floor set-up, and flip charts. The Service Fee is subject to Minnesota State Sales Tax and is property of the Campus Club. It is distributed as wages to all service employees.
MN State Sales Tax: 8.025%
Alcohol Sales Tax: 10.525%
Food & Beverage Guarantee
Final number of guests must be confirmed 7 days prior to the event. This number will be considered a guarantee, not subject to reduction. Increases made within 7 days will be subject to a 50% upcharge.
Cancellations will only be accepted via email. We do not take cancellations over the phone.
The responsible member number will be responsible for any cancellation of an event with the Campus Club and may be assessed any penalties for failing to cancel in a timely manner. Cancellations are only official upon receipt of our cancellation verification email.
If cancelling within 60 days of the Event Date, the registered member number will be responsible for any resulting charges, e.g., the room fee and if applicable a percentage of the food/beverage order. If a food/beverage order has not been made, the percentage will be based on the food/beverage minimum.
-Less than 60 days notice: 50% of room charge
-Less than 30 days notice: 100% of room charge
-Less than 14 days notice: 100% of room charge and 10% of food/beverage
-Less than 7 days notice: 100% of room charge and 25% of food/beverage
-Less than 48 hours: 100% of room charge and 50% of food/beverage
-Less than 24 hours: 100% of room charge and 100% of food/beverage
Minimum Guest Count
No minimum during business hours. We require a minimum of 50 guests for events on a weekend. Other limits may apply to non-business hours.
Wireless internet is supported by the University of Minnesota Wireless Network. Internet speed is approximately 100 MB. Wired internet speed is 1 GB.
Additional Rental Items
The Campus Club has an array of event service rental items (Audio/Visual, Flip Charts, Dance Floor, Vases, and more) available for your use. Connect with event staff to discuss any additional needs well in advance of your meeting. These items may not be available if they are not requested in advance. We recommend that you test your equipment in advance of your event.
On Site Catering
All food and beverage must be purchased through the Campus Club. No outside food or beverages may be brought in, with the exception of cakes. There is a cake service fee if you bring in a cake. We do not allow homemade items. NO LEFTOVER FOOD CAN BE TAKEN FROM THE CAMPUS CLUB, with the exception of cake that you bring in.
Events are booked on a first come, first served basis. We can put a hold on a room for you. If another client wants to book that room on that day, you have one business day to let us know your plans.
All event requests must be received electronically and must include the Campus Club member number. Event requests will not be accepted over the phone. You can email us or fill out the Room Request form.
The Campus Club is a membership organization. Members may sponsor events for non-members. We will sponsor a first-time corporate event without requiring a membership. Call Executive Director Ann Holt at 612-624-6626 if you have any questions about membership .
Additional Charges for Campus Club Events when Coffman Union is closed
Coffman Union does not hold regular hours on Sundays and University Holidays. A $400 non-refundable deposit is due at the time of reservation to open for an event when Coffman Union is scheduled to be closed. A five hour minimum is required to open the building when it is not scheduled to be open. There is a charge of $100/hour to keep the building open when it is not scheduled to be open. This includes keeping the building open past a scheduled close time. We will let you know if your event is scheduled for one of these times.